Zimbabwe Warriors

From Pindula

The Zimbabwe Warriors
Zimbabwe Warriors is the name of the men's senior soccer national team. The team was previously known as the Dream Team under one of the most iconic coaches, Reinhard Fabisch. The Warriors have won several Cups in the region such as the COSAFA Cup as well as other regional cups as well.


The Zimbabwe national soccer team came into existence in 1980 at the assumption of independence. Although there had been a Rhodesian national soccer team, it had not done much in terms of racial integration save for the occasional inclusion of players such as George Shaya. In the post independent era, the team was once known as the The Dream Team under the guidance of the now late Reinhard Fabisch. The team comprised legends of Zimbabwe's football history such Peter Ndlovu, Rahman Gumbo, Henry McKop, Bruce Grobbelaar, Adam Ndlovu, Benjamin Nkonjera, Agent Sawu, Vitalis Takawira, Norman Mapeza, Francis Shonhai just to mention a few.[1] The Dream Team was ranked number 40 in the FIFA World Rankings, the highest the national team has achieved to date.[2]

The Age of the Warriors

The team was named the Warriors of Zimbabwe around 1994 around the time that Fabisch was slapped with a one-year ban after an incident with match officials.[3] The warriors team also had other prominent footballers who had been part of the Dream Team such as the Ndlovu's. Some of the other prominent names to have played for the Warriors include, Benjani "Undertaker" Mwaruwari, Esrom "Yellow" Nyandoro, Energy "Gokwe" Murambadoro, Tinashe "Father" Nengomasha among others. Some of the major highlights of Warriors age was in 2004 when the national side qualified for the AFCON finals in Tunisia for first time in the country's history. The maiden appearance of the warriors at the AFCON finals was achieved under the guidance of former Dembare player, Sunday Chidzambwa. The success of 2004 was followed up by another qualification for the 2006 finals.

Former Coaches

  • Reinhard Fabisch
  • Moses Chunga
  • Klaus Dieter Pagels
  • Sunday Chidzambwa
  • Callisto Pasuwa
  • Charles Mhlauri

Greatest Players

Picture Gallery


Zimbabwe warriors vs Zambia: Cosafa Final

Zimbabwe warriors vs Ghana: AFCON Finals


  • COSAFA CUP Champions Winners 2000
  • COSAFA CUP Champions Winners 2003
  • COSAFA CUP Champions Winners 2005
  • COSAFA CUP Champions Winners 2009


  • The Warriors of Zimbabwe has a total of 8 players listed as the top COSAFA goal scorers of all time
  • Zimbabwe are joint record winners of the COSAFA Cup with Zambia after both countries won the regional Cup four times apiece.

Latest News

“We have adequate stocks of fuel in Zimbabwe” 24 Nov 2016

“Vexatious litigant” gets tongue lashing from judge; barred from filing court actions without approval 24 Nov 2016

Water crisis: Bulawayo council and journalists hold prayer for rains at Umzingwane Dam 24 Nov 2016

Zimbabwe to establish special courts to tackle corruption 24 Nov 2016

Banks failing to process RTGS timeously 24 Nov 2016

More News Headlines


  1. Michael Madyira Carelse-Juul’s ‘Dream Team’ memories, The Standard, Published: March 1, 2015, Retrieved: July 27, 2015
  2. The famous Fabisch, Facebook, Published: July 4, 2012, Retrieved: July 28, 2015
  3. Robson Sharuko Benjani, Zimbabwe's football hero, The Herald, Published: May 25, 2012, Retrieved: July 27, 2015