Khupe Recalls MDC Alliance MPs From Parliament

3 years agoTue, 05 May 2020 13:17:30 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Khupe Recalls MDC Alliance MPs From Parliament

The opposition MDC-T led by Thokozani Khupe has recalled four MDC Alliance MPs from Parliament.

The Speaker of the National Assembly on Tuesday announced that MDC Alliance MPs Prosper Mutseyami, Thabitha Khumalo, Chalton Hwende and Lilian Timveous [a Senator from Midlands Province] were no longer Members of Parliament following their recall by the MDC-T.

This was revealed by the Deputy Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services, Energy Mutodi. He said:

Speaker of Parliament Advocate Jacob Mudenda has announced Hon Mutseyami, Khumalo & Chalton Hwende are no longer Members of Parliament following a recall by their party MDCT.

His Excellency President ED Mnangagwa will proclaim by-elections dates for the affected Constituencies.

Get Pindula News on our WhatsApp Channel

Subscribe here: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029Va84dngJP21B2nWeyM3v

The MDC Alliance is expected to resist the recall of its MPs since they were elected on its ticket rather than the MDC-T.

The Thokozani Khupe-led party fielded its candidates in the 2018 harmonised elections but lost dismally.

However, following a recent ruling by the Supreme Court that Khupe was the legitimate MDC-T acting president since the death of Morgan Tsvangirai in 2018, the party has claimed all MDC Alliance MPs, saying it was part of the coalition when it was formed in ahead of the elections.



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals