Mwonzora 'Not Worried' After MDC Alliance MPs Boycott Parliament

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Mwonzora 'Not Worried' After MDC Alliance MPs Boycott Parliament

MDC-T secretary-general Douglas Mwonzora said he was not worried after MDC Alliance legislators snubbed Parliament on Tuesday.

Party senators Christine Rambanepasi (Buhera), Tichinani Mavetera (Masvingo) and Morgan Femai (Harare) attended the upper chamber’s sitting, while only MP Winnie Kankuni (Sunningdale) showed up in the National Assembly.

The boycott comes after the MDC Alliance leaders ordered the MPs to boycott Parliament in solidarity with Chalton Hwende (Kuwadzana East), Tabitha Khumalo (MDC proportional representative), Prosper Mutseyami (Dangamvura) and Midlands senator Lillian Timveos who were controversially recalled by Mwonzora.

Monzorwa downplayed the boycott which he said was caused by “misinformation” by Chamisa’s group. He said:

We are not worried about the low attendance because we are aware that MPs were treated to false information by the Chamisa group, that they had won the power to recall on Monday.

That, of course, is a falsehood. We reiterate that it is important for Parliament to sit and dispense with its business, especially that relating to the Covid-19 pandemic.

MDC Nelson Chamisa’s elevation to the MDC-T presidency in 2018 to succeed the late Morgan Tsvangirai was invalidated after the Supreme Court upheld a High Court ruling to the effect.

The court also ordered Khupe to convene an extraordinary MDC congress to elect a new leadership within three months.

More: Daily News



Leave a Comment

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals