Retired Army General, Engelbert Rugeje, Loses In ZANU PF CC Elections

1 year agoSat, 15 Oct 2022 18:38:54 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Retired Army General, Engelbert Rugeje, Loses In ZANU PF CC Elections

Former ZANU PF national political commissar Retired Brigadier General Engelbert Rugeje was defeated by little-known Cecilia Chabaya in the 9 October 2022 Central Committee elections in Bikita.

TellZim News reported sources as saying Rugeje had to be rescued by Bikita South MP Josiah Sithole who withdrew from the race to pave way for him to find a spot on the committee. Said a source:

Rugeje lost to Gogo Chabaya, a Chadzamira loyalist and to neutralize Chadzamira’s hold in Bikita, they had to talk to Sithole to step down and pave way for Rugeje.

However, ZANU PF Masvingo Provincial spokesperson Ophias Murambiwa denied the claims, insisting that party rules dictated that Rugeje was not supposed to be contested. Said Murambiwa:

That’s a lie, Sithole could not pave way for Gen Rugeje because they are not from the same constituency.

Latest Samsung Galaxy A05s available on Pindula:
128GB storage, 6GB RAM

$148 USD

WhatsApp +263715068543

What I know is Hon Madhuku (Johnson) is the one who submitted his CV and later withdrew.

ZANU PF Masvingo Province is reportedly divided into two groups, with one faction reportedly led by chairman Robson Mavhenyengwa while the other faction is allegedly led by his predecessor Ezra Chadzamira.

The two factions are said to be offshoots of the alleged ruling party factions between President Emmerson Mnangagwa and his deputy Constantino Chiwenga.

Chadzamira, who is the Minister of State, is allegedly fronting the Mnangagwa faction while Mavhenyengwa leads the Chiwenga faction.

The Mavhenyengwa faction enjoys control of Gutu, Zaka, Chivi and Mwenezi districts and has a faction in Bikita while the Chadzamira faction has total hold of Masvingo and Chiredzi districts, reported TellZim News.

Other ZANU PF bigwigs who lost in the recent Central Committee elections include ZANU PF Chief Whip and Gutu South MP Pupurai Togrepi who was defeated by former Chief Whip and Secretary for Security Lovemore Matuke.

Former Chivi North MP Paul Mangwana who is the party’s national secretary for Legal Affairs lost to Ephraim Gwanongodza in Chivi District.



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals