Highlanders Football Club popularly known as Bosso is one the oldest football clubs in Zimbabwe which was formed in 1926 and is based in Bulawayo.Its current coach is Erol Akbay and Barbourfields Stadium is the home ground of the team. The team has so far won 9 Premier Soccer League (PSL) titles, 6 independent trophies and it has also played in the CAF Champions League. In 2013, the team won the Mbada Diamonds Cup.

Highlanders Football Club
Nickname(s) Bosso, Tshilamoya
Founded 1926
Ground Babourfields Stadium (Emagumeni)
Manager Erol Akbay


Formation and Expansion of the Club

The club was formed in 1926 by Albert and Rhodes, who were King Lobengula's grandchildren.[1] It was initially called Lions Football Club and in 1936, it was renamed to Matebeleland Highlanders Football Club (MHFC).[1] In 1963, almost all players of the team defected to join the newly formed Cobras Football Club.[2] This had a negative impact on MHFC which was almost paralysed. Edward Dlamini worked tireless to assist the team from sinking.[2] The club was able to make an impact in the next three years.

In 1966 the team was attested in the Rhodesian National Football League (RNFL) and left the league in 1976.[1] Contrary to this, it has also been stated that between 1964 and 1968, the team was playing in the Bulawayo African Football Association and not in the RNFL.[2] It has was reported that the RNFL was biased hence African teams were not part of the RNFL. In 1970, MHFC had joined the Super League.[1]

In 1975, the prefix 'Matebeleland' was dropped and the former MHFC was now simply known as Highlanders Football Club (HFC). Joshua Nkomo who was the then leader of the Zimbabwe African People's Union (ZAPU) always made scathing attacks towards the use of tribal names by football teams.[2] The renaming of HFC from MHFC was a response to Nkomo's stance.


  1. Winners of the RNFL in 1958 and 1975
  2. Chibuku Trophy Winners (1980)
  3. Heroes Cup Champions (1980)
  4. 7 times winners of the PSL (1990, 1993, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 20060
  5. Mbada Diamond Cup (2013)

CAF Champions Appearances

CAF Cup Winners'

  1. 1986
  2. 1987
  3. 1992

African Cup Of Champions Club

  1. 1991
  2. 1994

CAF Confederations Cup

  1. 2008
  2. 2011

CAF Champions League

  1. 2000
  2. 2001
  3. 2002
  4. 2003
  5. 2007[1]

Prominent Players

Bruce Grobbelaar, Dumisani Ngulube, Peter Ndlovu, Adam Ndlovu, Madinda Ndlovu, Willard Khumalo, Master Masiku, Rahman Gumbo, Lawrence Phiri.

The Firing of Players

Former Highlanders Coach Bongani Mafu is said to have fired seven players which included the likes of Mthulisi Maphosa for cases of alleged indiscipline after it emerged that Maphosa had beaten up his girlfriend together with her alleged lover.[3] Other players that were also said to have been fired included Joel “Josta” Ngodzo, Dumisani “Fazo” Ndlovu, Njabulo “Tshiki” Ncube, Hillary Madzivanyika, Tapiwa Dephistara and goalkeeper Njabulo “Popo” Nyoni. Club CEO Ndumiso Gumede was reported to have confirmed the firing of Mthulisi Maphosa but not of the other six. Maphosa was also said to have been summoned by the club's disciplinary body for his wayward behaviour but the hearing failed to progress after Maphosa had argued that Highlanders had no jurisdiction summoning him for hearing since they had already fired him.

Some Articles About Highlanders Football Club

Dynamos, Highlanders Face Off In Uhuru Cup Contest Tue Apr 16 2019

Highlander Fan Dies In Car Crash, 5 Others Injured Tue Apr 9 2019

NetOne Sponsors 4 PSL Clubs Sat Mar 30 2019

See more news on Highlanders Football Club


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 , History, "Highlanders Football Club",:,retrieved:16 July 2014"
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 , HIGHLANDERS FOOTBALL CLUB : SIYINQABA, "Zim Giants",:,retrieved:16 July 2014"
  3. BREAKING NEWS: Highlanders Fires 7 Players, ZimEye, Published: January 8, 2015, Retrieved: January 14, 2015