Japhet Mparutsa
BornJaphet Mparutsa
(1963-08-08) August 8, 1963 (age 58)
ResidenceUnited Kingdom
EducationChitsere Primary School
  • Footballer
Home townHarare

Japhet Mparutsa is a former Zimbabwean footballer who was born on 8 August 1963. Japhet "Shot Cat" Mparutsa is a veteran soccer player and philanthropist who during his footballing days played for Dembare and Black Rhinos. Shot Cat also played for the Dream Team.


He was born on the 8th of August 1963 in Harare. As a young man from the dusty streets of Mbare, Japhet Mparutsa had a burning ambition to become a great goalkeeper. He played for Zimbabwean football giants Dynamos Football Club, Black Rhinos Football Club, Darryn T and South African premier league side Bloemfontein Celtic. Japhet battled the odds and broke records in a career spanning over 17 years.


Mparutsa attended Chitsere Primary School for his primary education.


Mparutsa played for Harare Central Hospitals' soccer side called Royal Kings before he joined Dynamos in 1979.[1]. Between 1979 and 1982, Mparutsa was playing for Dynamos Football Club where he managed to establish his name and was selected to be the Natbrew Soccer Star of the Year in 1982 at the age of 19 which heralded his ascendency. Mparutsa had to leave Dynamos in 1983 and joined Black Rhinos whom he managed to lead to a league and cup double in 1984. He later joined Darryn T up to 1993 when he left and joined Bloemfontein Celtic a South African football club. He had to hang up his boots in the late 1990s. He first had a taste of international football in 1981 turning out for Dynamos in the then African Champions Cup against Shooting Stars of Nigeria.

Teams Played For

National Team Caps

Japhet Mparutsa was a permanent feature in the Zimbabwe national team in his career and this saw him being capped 63 times. He played for both the national U20 and the senior national team


  • 1982 Natbrew Soccer Star of the Year
  • League and Cup Winners medals (1984 with Black Rhinos Football Club)
  • 1985 Vaseline Blue Seal Goalkeeper of the Year


  1. [1], ‘’The Herald’’, Published 10 February 2016, Retrieved: 17 August 2019

Articles You Might Like