<vote /> The Warrior's first Cosafa match was in March 1997 and they lost 2-1 away to Namibia in Windhoek.

They won their first trophy in 2000, where they crushed Lesotho 6-0 on aggregate in the final (3-0 wins in both Maseru and Bulawayo). The Warriors then went on to lift the COSAFA Cup in, 2003, 2005 and 2009.

They were also runners up in 2013 when they lost to the final to Zambia and Chipolopolo’s victory brought them level with Zimbabwe on four titles.

In the 2015 edition of the Cosafa Cup, Zimbabwe were eliminated in the group stage. They defeated both Mauritius and the Seychelles, but their showdown with eventual champions Namibia ended in a 4-1 defeat in Rustenburg – the Warriors’ heaviest loss in Cosafa Cup history.

Overall, Zimbabwe has played 45 matches in the tournament, recording 30 victories, eight draws and seven defeats, with 72 goals for and 32 against.

Read full story on African Football

Latest News

Latest Profiles

<comments />