• 11 February 1888: Matebele King, Lobengula, signs the Moffat Treaty by placing his mark on the document. Effectively he agrees to not enter into any correspondence or treaty with any foreign state, on any subject whatsoever, without the knowledge and sanction of the England Queen's High Commissioner of South Africa. That way the British government could keep competitors out of the land.
  • 11 February 1955: The University College of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, now the University of Zimbabwe is formally established by the British government Royal Charter. The university accepted it's first students in 1957.
Morgan Tsvangirai
  • 11 February 1990: In neighbouring South Africa, Nelson Mandela, and anti-apartheid activist, is released from prison after 27 years by South African President Frederik Willem de Klerk.
  • 11 February 2009: Morgan Tsvangirai is sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Zimbabwe following the power-sharing deal between him and Robert Mugabe signed in September 2008.