Securities and Exchange Commission of Zimbabwe
SECZ Logo.jpg
FormationSeptember 1, 2008; 13 years ago (2008-09-01)
TypeGovernmental organization
HeadquartersBlock C, Ground Floor, Smatsatsa Office Park, Borrowdale Road, Borrowdale,
Key people
Tafadzwa Chinamo
Contacts: Tel +263 (0)242 870042-46, 870048-49 870080-81, email:

Securities and Exchange Commission of Zimbabwe (SECZ) is a government regulatory authority for the securities and capital markets in Zimbabwe. It was established in September 2008 through the enactment of the Securities Act (Chapter 24:25). Commissioners were appointed on 1 September 2008 whilst the Secretariat was established in 2009. The Commission reports to the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development.

Regulatory functions

  • Regulates trading and dealing in securities; and
  • Registers, supervise and regulate securities exchanges
  • Licenses, supervise and regulate licensed persons


The stated objectives of SECZ are:

  • Providing high levels of investor confidence
  • Reducing systemic risk in the capital markets
  • Promoting market integrity and investor confidence
  • To prevent market manipulation, fraud and financial crime
  • Ensuring transparency in capital and securities markets
  • Promoting investor education

Structure of SECZ

Structure of the Securities and Exchange Commission


SECZ Commissioners

  • Livingstone Gwata, Chairperson
  • Harrison Nkomo, Commissioner
  • Florence Ziumbe, Commissioner
  • Pearson Chitando, Commissioner
  • Ethel Chitanda, Commissioner
  • Godfrey Manungo, Commissioner
  • Yona Banda, Commissioner
  • Paradza Paradza,Commissioner