Zimbabwe Cricket

From Pindula
(Redirected from Zimbabwe Cricket Union)
Zimbabwe Cricket.jpg
PredecessorZimbabwe Cricket Union (ZCU)
FormationJuly 21, 1992; 27 years ago (1992-07-21)
PurposeSports organisation
Lalchand Rajput
Tavengwa Mukuhlani
Chief Executive
Wilfred Mukondiwa
Women's Coach
Zoe Goss
Key people
Givemore Makoni (Chief Selector)
AffiliationsInternational Cricket Council

Zimbabwe Cricket (formerly Zimbabwe Cricket Union) is the cricket administration body in Zimbabwe. The body runs the Zimbabwe national cricket team and organises test tours as well as facilitating domestic cricket development.

Former Name

ZC was formerly known as Zimbabwe Cricket Union, a name that was changed in 2004. The name was announced by the then chairman, Peter Chingoka.

The Board

  1. Tavengwa Mukuhlani (Chairman)
  2. Sylvester Matshaka (Vice Chairman)
  3. Tafadzwa Madoro (Harare Metropolitan)
  4. Godwin Dube (Bulawayo Metropolitan)
  5. Ronald Chibwe (Mashonaland West)
  6. Godfrey Nyadongo (Manicaland)
  7. Fiona Ndlovu (Matabeleland North)
  8. Arthur Maposa (Matabeleland South)
  9. Bornface Machuwaire (Masvingo)
  10. Rainsford Edward
  11. Lincoln Bhila
  12. Maureen Kuchocha
  13. Lloyd Mhishi

Domestic Competitions

The Logan Cup is the premier domestic first-class cricket competition in Zimbabwe. It has been contested on a provincial basis since the 1903–04 season, when the country was still called Rhodesia, but has only attained first-class status since Zimbabwe became a full member of the ICC in 1992. The current champions are the Mountaineers.

Cricket Teams

Zimbabwean domestic first-class cricket involved the following teams before the introduction of the franchise system in Zimbabwe Cricket:

  • Centrals
  • Northerns
  • Southerns
  • Westerns
  • Easterns

The newly introduced five franchise sides are as follows:

  1. Mountaineers
  2. Matabeleland Tuskers
  3. Mashonaland Eagles
  4. Mid West Rhinos
  5. Rangers from the Alistair Campbell High Performance Programme

Logan Cup 2019-20 Fixtures

    DATE	FIXTURE	                    VENUE
  • 12-15 December Eagles vs Rhinos Harare Sports Club
               Mountaineers vs Tuskers	Old Hararians
  • 18-21 December Eagles vs Rangers Harare Sports Club
               Rhinos vs Mountaineers	Takashinga
  • 27-30 December Rangers vs Rhinos Harare Sports Club
               Tuskers vs Eagles	Takashinga
  • 3-6 January Mountaineers vs Rangers Old Hararians
               Rhinos vs Tuskers	Takashinga
  • 9-12 January Eagles vs Mountaineers Old Hararians
               Tuskers vs Rangers	Takashinga
  • 16-19 January Rhinos vs Eagles Old Hararians
               Tuskers vs Mountaineers	Takashinga
  • 23-26 January Rhinos vs Rangers Old Hararians
               Eagles vs Tuskers	Takashinga
  • 1-4 February Mountaineers vs Eagles Old Hararians
               Rangers vs Tuskers	Takashinga
  • 7-10 February Rangers vs Eagles Old Hararians
               Mountaineers vs Rhinos	Takashinga
  • 13-16 February Rangers vs Mountaineers Old Hararians
               Tuskers vs Rhinos	Takashinga

Significant Events

  • In 2003, during a world cup match in Zimbabwe, national team members Henry Olonga and Andy Flower demonstrated against what they considered "the death of democracy" in Zimbabwe.[1]. Both retired after the event, with Olonga moving to the United Kingdom.
  • In July 2014, Peter Chingoka resigned from the position of chairman after having been at the helm of the organisation since 1990.


  1. Andy Flower & Henry Olonga: the 'death of democracy' remembered, BBC, Published: 7 Feb 2013, Retrieved: 4 June 2018