About Zimbabwe, & Log in

From Pindula

To Login, please scroll to the bottom of this page

This wiki is about, Zimbabwe, a country located in the Southern Africa region. It's an effort to get information about local stuff online, by locals.

Zimbabwe is capital city is Harare and the country has 10 provinces. Zimbabwe is 390,580 sq km and is bordered on all sides by other countries It shares a 200-kilometre border on the south with the Republic of South Africa, shares a border with Botswana on the southwest and west, on the north with Zambia, and on the northeast and east it is bounded by Mozambique.

The capital of Zimbabwe is Harare. The second largest city is Bulawayo. The other cities are Gweru, Mutare and Masvingo.

As at 2012, the population of people in Zimbabwe stood at 13 061 239. The capital city of Harare is home to more than 2 million people. The male population in the country was 6 280 539 whilst the total female population was 6 780 700.

The current president of Zimbabwe is Emmerson Mnangagwa who succeeded the now late former president Robert Mugabe through a military coup in November 2017. Mnangagwa is the leader of the governing party, Zanu PF.

Zimbabwe's economy is undergoing a depression since about 2000 (now 2 decades in) characterised by high inflation. The local currency, the Zimbabwe Dollar, was removed circulation in 2009 and reintroduced in 2019 by the new Finance minister Mthuli Ncube.

Zimbabwe lies almost entirely over 1,000 feet (300 metres) above sea level. The country is predominantly savanna (tropical grassland), with a generous tree growth encouraged by the wet summers.

The country has 10 provinces: Harare, Bulawayo, Midlands, Manicaland, Matabeleland, Mashonaland, Mashonaland West, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland Central, and Masvingo.

The majority of Zimbabweans (more than 2 thirds) speak Shona as their first language, while about one sixth of the population speaks Ndebele. The country also includes groups from other countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, especially from Mozambique, Zambia and Malawi.

The National Anthem. Click below to play

Log in