President Mnangagwa Appoints Constitutional Court Judges

2 years agoWed, 19 May 2021 16:41:59 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
President Mnangagwa Appoints Constitutional Court Judges

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed five judges of the Constitutional Court (ConCourt) and will be sworn in on Thursday.

The five justices are Paddington Garwe, Rita Makarau, Anne-Mary Goora, Ben Hlatshwayo and Bharat Patel.

They will take oath before the Acting Chief Justice Elizabeth Gwaunza.

Before their appointment, the five were all acting judges of the Constitutional Court.

They were among the 12 candidates that participated in the public interviews conducted in September last year.

Usanetseke neNetOne airtime.

Baya *405# utenge neEcoCash

Mnangagwa however snubbed appointing High Court judge, Justice Happias Zhou to the ConCourt.

Justice Zhou came third after Justice Rita Makarau and Justice Paddington Garwe in last year’s public interviews for the ConCourt bench appointments.

On Saturday, Justice Zhou ruled former Chief Justice Luke Malaba’s five-year extension term of office by Mnangagwa as CJ was invalid.

Speaking in the aftermath of the ruling, Justice Minister Ziyambi Ziyambi rebuked Zhou, warning that the government was “going to poke the enemy in the eye and confront it”.



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals