Mnangagwa To Commission Kariba South Power Station

5 years agoTue, 27 Mar 2018 03:52:03 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Mnangagwa To Commission Kariba South Power Station

President Emmerson Mnangagwa will commission  two new units (Unit 7 and 8) at Kariba South Power Station.

In an interview with The Herald, Power and Energy Development Minister Simon Khaya Moyo Government is looking at the expansion of Hwange Thermal Power Station now that the Kariba South Power Station project is complete. He also said Government is working on additional power supplies to help reduce the country’s import bill. Said Khaya Moyo:

We are also looking at the expansion programme at Hwange Thermal Power Station. They have six units there and we are looking at building two more units — Unit 7 and 8 — and that will add about 600MW to the national grid. We are also repowering Harare, Bulawayo and Munyati thermal power stations and once all these are up, a large sum of money would be saved from the import bill. We will, however, never say we are satisfied as we will continue looking for possible areas of cooperation to set up more power stations across the  country.

The expansion of Kariba South, which started on November 10, 2014, was completed on March 10 this year. Unit 7 came on stream on December 22 last year, while Unit 8 started running about 2 weeks ago.

More: Herald

Usanetseke neNetOne airtime.

Baya *405# utenge neEcoCash



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals