Harare Councillors To Be Sworn In On Monday

5 years agoFri, 31 Aug 2018 00:59:46 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Harare Councillors To Be Sworn In On Monday

Councillors who won in the July 30 harmonised elections in Harare’s 46 wards will be sworn in on Monday.

They are expected to elect the next mayor and the deputy for Harare soon after the swearing-in ceremony. Those vying for the post of mayor include Mr Ian Makone (ward 18), lawyer Mr Jacob Mafume (Ward 17), Herbert Gomba (Ward 33), Kumbirai Kunashei and outgoing deputy mayor, Enock Mupamawonde. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Town House, with all the 46 elected councillors expected to take part.

Speaking to The Herald, Harare Residents Trust director Mr Precious Shumba yesterday said the Councillors should revamp Harare’s billing system and fully investigate the parcelling out of council land by corrupt officials and councillors in the last council. He also added that the new Councillors should prioritise water provision, rehabilitation of underground water pipes, and construction of primary and secondary schools in all the new settlements.

Also Read:

More: Herald

Usanetseke neNetOne airtime.

Baya *405# utenge neEcoCash



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals