HomeTravel & Tourism

Zimbabwe Gets International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Council Seat

1 year agoWed, 05 Oct 2022 12:07:11 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Zimbabwe Gets International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Council Seat

Zimbabwe on Tuesday landed a seat on the 36-member International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Council during elections held at the 41st ICAO assembly in Montreal, Canada.

A Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure Development delegation led by Minister Felix Mhona is in Canada, where Zimbabwe was the SADC representative in the elections. The Ministry tweeted:

Government of the Republic of Zimbabwe under the wise leadership of President, His Excellency Cde Dr E.D Mnangagwa has won the ICAO Council seat Part III at the 41st ICAO Assembly in Montreal, Canada. This is the first time that Zimbabwe has been elected into the United Nations specialised agency for Civil Aviation the highest decision making body of #ICAO. The Zimbabwe Delegation was led by the Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development, Hon Felix T Mhona.

The foreign policy thrust of engagement and re-engagement are now bearing fruits under the Second Republic #NDS1 #Vision2030

ICAO says the election process was divided into three parts.

Get Pindula News on our WhatsApp Channel

Subscribe here: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029Va84dngJP21B2nWeyM3v

Part I:

It’s when states of chief importance in air transport are chosen. It saw Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States elected.

Part II:

This considers countries with the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation. It saw Argentina, Austria, Egypt, Iceland, India, Mexico, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, and Venezuela chosen.

Part III:

This is done to ensure all major geographic areas of the world are represented. Zimbabwe was chosen along with Bolivia, Chile, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mauritania, Qatar, the Republic of Korea, Romania, and the United Arab Emirates.

ICAO is a United Nations agency established in 1944 to help 193 countries to cooperate together and share their skies for their mutual benefit.

Pindula News



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals