Mayor of Harare

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

The Mayors of Harare and Salisbury.

  • 1980 to 1995 - Mayors ceremonial with reduced powers and authority. Their terms of office were four years.
  • 1995 / 1996 - Executive mayors introduced through an amendment to the Urban Councils Act in 1995, and effected in 1996.
  • 2008 - provision removed, Local Government Laws Amendment Number 1 of 2008.

See Executive Mayor in Zimbabwe.

In 2005 the Executive Mayor, elected by the citizens, was replaced with a Ceremonial Mayor, elected by Councillors.

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals