Ngezi Platinum Stars Football Club
Ngezi Platinum Stars
Full nameNgezi Platinum Stars
GroundBaobab Stadium
ChairmanLeonard Musariri
ManagerTakesure Chiragwi
LeagueZimbabwe Premier Soccer League
WebsiteClub home page

Ngezi Platinum Stars is a Zimbabwean Football Club that plays in the Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League. They Originated from Ngezi Mine and their home Stadium is the newly refurbished Baobab Stadium where they are managed by Takesure Chiragwi who took over on an interim basis after the club parted ways with Benjani Mwaruwari better known as "The Undertaker" in football circles on 25 July 2022 who was appointed after the club had parted ways with Rodwell Dhlakama.


Ngezi Platinum Stars (NPS) FC formerly known as Ngezi Sporto FC started playing social football in 2001 and was at that time sponsored by MCC (Open Cast Contractor). However, in 2004 the club started playing competitive soccer and qualified to join the ZIFA Mashonaland West Division 2B. They played in the ZIFA Northern Region Division 1 in 2015 and won the championship to gain promotion into the Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League under the guidance of Clifton Kadurira[1]

The Manager


Former Dynamos midfielder Tonderayi Ndiraya was excited when he was appointed back in mainstream football after he was confirmed as head coach at struggling Premiership new boys Ngezi Platinum Stars back in 2016 when the team was struggling. Ndiraya replaced Clifton Kadurira who was reassigned to the position of assistant coach.

Ndiraya said

"Obviously, I am happy to get such a big job. It’s an honour to coach a professional club such as Ngezi Platinum Stars. They could be new in the Premiership but the most important thing is they are a big brand. “So I am excited, I look forward to a lot of positives. Of course, most of the players are new to the Premiership and we should expect them to step up their performance to the standards befitting such a big brand,”


After the team failed to reach the promised land twice they decided to part ways with Tonderai Ndiraya towards the end of the 2018 season and hired former Highlanders Football Club Dutch coach Elroy Akbay who took charge until September 2019 when he was also sacked for poor results and was replaced by the current coach Rodwell Dhlakama who was coaching Chapungu Football Club in the Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League.[3]

Dhlakama was sacked after the club conducted an internal investigation where he was being accused of asking for kick backs in return for game time from the players. He was replaced by former Warriors captain, Benjani Mwaruwari.

Chairman's Comments

“If you look at our position on the log standings, it doesn’t reflect well. Two wins in nine games isn’t good enough,” said Gasiteni. We have said it from the start that our target this year is to survive relegation and with the way the results have not been coming, we didn’t want to wait until it was late to make the changes. “We don’t want to be relegated, simple as that. “And for a smooth changeover, Kadurira will take charge of the next match against Dynamos and then, when Ndiraya starts work on Monday, he (Kadurira) will remain in the technical team as assistant. “But going forward it will be up to the new coach to decide who he wants to work with.”[2]


  • Stanley Segula (President)
  • Lysias Chiwozva (Vice President - Technical)
  • Wadzanayi Mutsakanyi (Vice President)
  • Takawira Maswiswi (Vice President - Commercial & HR)
  • Busi Chindove (Vice President - Marketing and Communications)
  • Louis Mabiza (Board Member)
  • Simbarashe Goto (Board Member)
  • Leonard Musariri (Chairman)
  • Yvonne Mapika Manwa (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Cloete Munjoma (Secretary General)
  • Admire Chiremba (Treasurer)
  • Rumbidzayi Muyambuki (Junior Development)
  • Tatenda Dhembure (Junior Development)
  • Justice Fushai (Committee Member)


  • Northern Region Championship 2015
  • Promotion To Division One Zimbabwe PSL In 2016
  • Yadah Cup
Yadah victory
  • Chibuku Super Cup winners in 2016
  • Chibuku Super Cup Losing Finalists (2019)

Technical Team

  • Head Coach - Takesure Chiragwi
  • Assistant Coach - Klifton Kadurira
  • Assistant Coach - Alexio Sigion
  • Goalkeepers' Coach - Cosmas Zulu (On Suspension)
  • Development Coach - Klifton Kadulira
  • Team Doctor - L Chirimuuta
  • Team Physio - J Chikambure
  • Kit Manager - L Makuvatsine
  • Fitness Trainer - N Machirenje
  • Team Manager - A Javachava

First Team


  • Nelson Chadya (16)
  • Marion Chang
  • Issa Ali (1)


  • Qadr Amini (23)
  • Gerald Takwara
  • Polite Moyo (15)
  • Kudzai Chigwida (6)
  • Wayne Makuwa (21)
  • Ariel Makopa (22)
  • Tendai Musariri
  • Arter Kaseke (28)
  • Munashe Katondo
  • Carlos Mavhurume (29)
  • Tinotenda Musariranwa (4)


  • Denver Mukamba (10)
  • Wellington Taderera (25)
  • Anelka Chivandire
  • Nigel Makumbe
  • Marlon Mushonga
  • Bruno Mtigo (17)
  • Malvin Kwinjo
  • Marvellous Mukumba (7)
  • Walter Vuwa
  • Tapiwa Sibanda (20)
  • Valentine Kadonzvo (30)
  • Last Jesi (8)
  • Mandlenkosi Mlilo (13)
  • Takunda Benhura (3)
  • Leslie Kashitigu


  • Junior Zindoga
  • Nyasha Chintuli
  • Tendai Matindife
  • MacDonald Makuwe (27)
  • Zubair Ali
  • Delic Murimba (24)

Picture Gallery


  1. [1], Published:13 October 2015 , Retrieved: 28 July 2016
  2. 2.0 2.1 [2],    , Published:17 June 2016 , Retrieved: 29 July 2016
  3. [3], Published:26 September 2019 , Retrieved: 11 November 2019