Bulawayo City Council Names Streets

1 year agoSat, 14 May 2022 06:45:12 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Bulawayo City Council Names Streets

Bulawayo City Council (BCC) has named some streets in the city’s new suburbs for easy identification of properties.

In a statement yesterday, Bulawayo Town Clerk Mr Christopher Dube said wider consultations with residents were conducted before new street names were adopted.

Dube said the exercise is guided by the council resolution of the 8th August 1990 where the Council adopted guidelines for the naming of public features including streets.

He said in suburbs which are already developed and have residents residing there, ward councillors were engaged to liaise with the residents to come up with the street names in line with guidelines for street naming which were availed to them.

Dube said street naming is ongoing in suburbs such as Mahatshula North, Mahatshula South, Parklands East Extension, Emhlangeni, Harrisvale, Lochview, Sunninghill, Manningdale, Marvel, Newton, Neqi, Selborne Park, Willsgrove, Buena Vista and Donnington West.

Get Pindula News on our WhatsApp Channel

Subscribe here: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029Va84dngJP21B2nWeyM3v

He added that Council on 4 January 2017 adopted the following street names for Mahatshula which are based on the Nguni chieftaincy surnames and totems:

a). Chiefs: Chief Bidi, Chief Khayisa, Chief Tshitshi, Chief Nkalakatha, Chief Sivalo, Chief Nyangazonke, Chief Sikhobokhobo, Chief Gwebu, Chief Tshugulu, Chief Dlodlo; Chief Mathuphula, Chief Maduna, Chief Mabhikwa, Chief Maqhekeni, Chief Mzimuni, Chief Magama, Chief Gampu, Chief Mguni.

b).  Some of the names and totems include Sokhela, Manyewu, Mgutshini, Njola, Mguni Fethe, Mazibuko Thwalabesebe, Mangwana, Gogo Natali and Tshili Mkheswa among others.

Mr Dube said the themes chosen were names of late leaders whom they felt had contributed to the development of Bulawayo and the country and indigenous trees. These include:

i). Nicholas J Mabodoko – BCC Mayor of Bulawayo 1981-1983,

ii). Abel N. T Siwela BCC First Executive Mayor of Bulawayo 1996-2000,

iii). Bishop Siphuma Roman Catholic Priest,

iv). Bishop Kaslew Lutheran Church Priest.

v). David Ndoda – Salvation Army Priest,

vi). Reverend Nunu-Methodist Church Priest,

vii). Rev Manyoba Methodist Church Priest,

viii). Dr Joana Davis-Former Medical Doctor and

ix). J Mkandla and SDA Church Priest.

Residents of Buena Vista, which is adjacent to Lochview along the Old Esigodini road, chose to have their roads named after indigenous trees: Umvimila, Iminyela, Umphafa, Umviyo, Umkhuna, Umvagazi, Umhlali, Umlugulu, Umkhiwa, Ugagu.

More: Chronicle



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals