Six Kenyan Border Jumpers Await Deportation

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Six Kenyan Border Jumpers Await Deportation

Zimbabwe is set to deport six Kenyan nationals who were arrested in Beitbridge last month for entering the country illegally.

The Kenyans were arrested at the Beitbridge Border Post on 27 May at around 2 AM as they entered Zimbabwe.

They were coming from South Africa and were travelling by road in transit to Kenya.

The six Kenyan border jumpers are Musa Abdullahi Hussein (44), Mohamed Abdille (43), Ali Mohamed Abdi (37), Hussein Harun Bullo (34), Muhamed Abdirahman Issack (34) and Ibrahimbashir Durow (34).

They were arrested at a security checkpoint as they left the border after it was discovered that they had fake Zimbabwean immigration date stamps.

The police found out that their travel documents had an immigration date stamp that didn’t exist and they implicated a bogus immigration officer.

The six appeared before Beitbridge magistrate Annia Chimweta on Monday charged with violating the Immigration Act.

They were convicted and cautioned against repeating the same offence.

Prosecutor Esnath Vengedza told the magistrate court that on arrival at the Beitbridge border, the Kenyans engaged the services of a bogus immigration officer, who stamped two passports and travel documents and charged them for his “services”.

The six Kenyans are still in custody pending deportation.

More: The East African



Leave a Comment

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals