Download Final Delimitation Report Govt Gazette [pdf]

7 months ago
Tue, 21 Feb 2023 09:51:49 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Download Final Delimitation Report Govt Gazette [pdf]




President Emmerson Mnangagwa has gazetted the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) ‘s final delimitation report. 

In an Extraordinary Gazette under Statutory Instrument 14 of 2023 seen by Pindula News, President Mnangagwa said he received the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission’s final delimitation report on the 17th of February, 2023. 

Are you a Civil Servant or Pensioner in Zimbabwe?

Get a smartphone 📱 on Zero Deposit. 24 hours to process.

Click here to apply

ZEC embarked on a voter registration blitz last year, meant to inform the delimitation report.

Notable changes in the ZEC delimitation report were observed in the following provinces:

1).  Harare: Three constituencies were created from the Harare South constituency namely, Churu, Harare South and Hunyani. An additional constituency was created in Epworth resulting in Epworth North and Epworth South Constituencies. Harare North was reconfigured and renamed to the Hatcliffe constituency.

2). Bulawayo: Seven constituencies were reconfigured and renamed as follows:

Bulawayo North, Cowdry Park, Emakhandeni-Luveve Entumbane-Njube, Lobengula-Magwegwe Mpopoma-Mzilikazi and Pelandaba-Tshabalala.

3). Manicaland Province: Musikavanhu and Chipinge West were merged to create Chipinge West Constituency. The collapsed constituency formed Chikanga Constituency after Dangamvura-Chikanga was split due to high population.

4). Mashonaland East: Three constituencies namely Chikomba Central, Chikomba East, Chikomba West were reconfigured due to the low registered voter population. As a result, Chikomba Central was collapsed and two Constituencies remain namely Chikomba East and Chikomba West.

5). Masvingo Province: Gutu North was collapsed and merged with other existing constituencies due to a low registered voter population which failed to meet the minimum threshold for a constituency. However the collapsed constituency was replaced by the creation of a new Chiredzi Central Constituency. In the same vein, Zaka East and Zaka West were collapsed and reconfigured to form a new Zaka South Constituency. One of the collapsed constituencies was replaced by the creation of a new Mwenezi North constituency. In effect, the Province retained its previously allocated 26 constituencies.

6). Matabeleland South: The province had very low numbers of registered voters therefore it was allocated 12 constituencies after Bulilima East was collapsed to meet the minimum threshold.

7). Midlands province: Mberengwa South constituency was collapsed and three constituencies now remain i.e., Mberengwa East, Mberengwa West and Mberengwa Central. This collapsed constituency was replaced by the creation of a new Mkoba North constituency.

More Pindula News




Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals