HomeElections In Zimbabwe

12 Out Of 18 Sitting ZANU PF MPs Lose In Primary Elections In Mashonaland Central

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
12 Out Of 18 Sitting ZANU PF MPs Lose In Primary Elections In Mashonaland Central

Preliminary results from ZANU PF primary elections in Mashonaland Central indicate that 12 sitting MPs were defeated and will not stand for the ruling party in upcoming elections.

The province has 18 constituencies and only six candidates retained their seats, reported The Herald.

Minister of State for Provincial Affairs and Devolution Monica Mavhunga reportedly lost the senatorial seat to Nicholas Goche.

Those who were retained by voters are ZANU PF Provincial Chairperson Kazembe Kazembe (Mazowe West), Politburo member Kenneth Musanhu (Bindura North), Tendai Nyabani (Rushinga), Minister of Energy and Power Development Zhemu Soda, Douglas Karoro (Mbire) and Remigious Matangira (Bindura South).

The entire Mt Darwin and Guruve constituencies have new faces, with the old guard rejected by voters.

Stephen Kabozo (Mt Darwin South) lost to Cde Kudakwashe Mupamhanga, Cde Norman Marikisi (Mt Darwin East) was beaten by Cde Dzidzai Burau, Cde Barnwell Seremwe (Mt Darwin West) was dislodged by Cde Witness Jonga, Cde Noveti Muponora (Mt Darwin North) came second best to Cde Laban Munemo.

In Guruve South, Patrick Dutiro lost to provincial vice chairperson Colonel Christopher Magomo while Girovha Dzapasi (Guruve North) lost to Tendai Pinduka.

Mazowe North was one of the most interesting constituencies where Campion Mugweni was battling Advocate Martin Dinha, Tafadzwa Musarara and Tsungi Makumbe.

Tsungi Makumbe won the Mazowe North seat.

In Muzarabani South, Tapera Saizi lost to Benjamin Kabikira.

In Shamva South, sitting MP Bramwell Bushu lost to Joseph Mapiki who is returning having lost to Bushu in the previous election. Oscar Gorerino (Shamva North) lost to Isaac Chinodakufa.

Reports also indicate that Lazarus Dokora and James Makamba won senate seats in Rushinga and Mt Darwin respectively.

More: Pindula News



Leave a Comment

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals