<vote /> Government has added Harare to rabies prescribed areas following several outbreaks of the disease in the province this year. This brings the number of rabies prescribed areas to 11. Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development Minister Dr Joseph Made made the announcements in a Statutory Instrument published in the latest Government Gazette.

The Gazette reads,

It is hereby notified that the Minister of Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development has in terms of Section 5 of the Animal Heath Act made the following order:

This order may be cited as the Animal Health Rabies Area Order, 2016.

The schedule of the Animal Health (Rabies Area) (No. 2) Order, 1995 published in Statutory Instrument 312 of 1995 is amended by the insertion after paragraph 10 of the following, Harare Metropolitan province.

In 1995 Government declared Gokwe North, Gokwe South, Manicaland, Mashonaland Central Province, Mashonaland East Province, Mashonaland West Province, Masvingo, Matabeleland North Province and Matabeleland South Province rabies areas.

Department of Veterinary Services (DVS) director Dr Josphat Nyika yesterday said there had been an increase of rabies cases in Harare, particularly in Mt Pleasant, Mabelreign, Meyrick Park and Monavale, among others. To date, four people died from rabies and three were from Harare.

The world commemmorates World Rabies Day on September 28.

Read More: The Herald

Latest News

Latest Profiles

<comments />