Zimbabwe Wants To Become A BRICS Member

6ย months ago
Fri, 17 Mar 2023 07:36:52 GMT
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Zimbabwe Wants To Become A BRICS Member

Zimbabwe has said it would like to become a member of the BRICS economic bloc, which consists of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

Christopher Mutsvangwa, the speaker of the ruling party ZANU-PF, told Russiaโ€™s RIA Novosti news agency on Wednesday that the move is strategic. He is cited as saying:

We made it clear that we would like to become a member of the BRICS.

Mutsvangwa added that Zimbabwe is interested in developing alternatives to the Western-dominated SWIFT payment network and becoming a member of BRICS could contribute to that.

SWIFT is a messaging network that financial institutions use to securely transmit information and instructions through a standardized system of codes. Although SWIFT has become a crucial part of global financial infrastructure, it is not a financial institution itself: SWIFT does not hold or transfer assets, according to Investopedia.

Are you a Civil Servant or Pensioner in Zimbabwe?

Get a smartphone ๐Ÿ“ฑ on Zero Deposit. 24 hours to process.

Click here to apply

Mutsvangwa described BRICS as a new force in international relations and said he hopes its growth and expansion will continue.

The five BRICS nations account for more than 40% of the worldโ€™s population and nearly a quarter of the global GDP.

Earlier this year, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said that โ€œmore than a dozenโ€ nations have expressed an interest in entering the BRICS alliance.

They include Algeria, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran, Egypt, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sudan, Syria, Tรผrkiye, the United Arab Emirates, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

More Pindula News



Leave a Comment

Generate a Whatsapp Message

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals