Susan Matsunga

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Susan Matsunga is a Zimbabwean politician and a member of the MDC Alliance.

Personal Details

Born: 28 August 1979. [1]

School / Education

Primary education: Tendai school
Secondary education: Completed her Ordinary Level studies at Mufakose 4 Secondary School. [1]


Susan Matsunga was not elected to Parliament as part of the 60 seconded legislators under the Proportional Representation (PR), a system that was birthed by the 2013 Zimbabwe Constitution. [2]

(ZEC results indicate she was not elected).
Sixty seats were allocated to women in 2013. They were divided into 6 per province, based on a party's share of votes in the province. The parties produced lists of candidates before the elections. Successful candidates are listed in bold. Only parties which had successful candidates are listed. Vote counts for these seats may vary slightly from the official provincial vote totals due to some multiple candidates votes.

Harare Province
Marongedza Shorai Masaiti Muzungu Sabina Thembani
Mary Nhavhaya Value Chitembwe Sabina Mangwende
Shumirai Zinyoro Ronia Bunjira Miriam Chikukwa
Maggie Sandram Susan Matsunga Tendai Wenyika
Grace Parehwa Revai Muguti Rodhas Karimakwenda

In 2018 she competed in the elections and polled 9 987 votes against her closest rival Duni Derera of Zanu PF who had 2 425. [1]



She went to South Africa soon after finishing her secondary education and later came back to join the MDC party in 2000 as a youth.

In 2000 she was voted MDC youth secretary for Mufakose district. In 2009 she was voted the Harare province youth secretary for gender. At the 2014 MDC congress she was appointed secretary for defence and security at the party’s national women’s assembly by the late MDC leader Morgan Tsvangirai.

In 2019 she was appointed a member of the National Executive Council (NEC) by Nelson Chamisa. [1]

Recall From Parliament

In October 2020, Matsunga was one of the ten legislators expelled from Parliament after the MDC-T wrote to the House saying they were no longer representing it. At the time of the recall, Matsunga was the Member of Parliament for Mufakose. The recalling of MPs voted as MDC Alliance candidates followed a Supreme Court ruling in April 2020 conferring legitimacy to Dr Thokozani Khupe as the leader of the MDC-T.

The other MPs that were recalled together with Matsunga were Eric Murai of Highfield East, Wellington Chikombo of Glen Norah, Earthrage Kureva of Epworth, Dorcas Sibanda of Proportional Representation Bulawayo, Caston Matewu of Marondera Central, Lynette Karenyi of PR Manicaland, Concilia Chinanzvavana of PR Mashonaland West, Prince Dubeko Sibanda of Binga North and Unganai Tarusenga of St Mary’s. [3]

Before her recall from Parliament, Matsunga was in the Energy committee, chaired by Binga MP Joel Gabuza. She was also in the Mines committee, chaired by Edmund Mukaratigwa of Shurugwi South.[1]

In the Zimbabwe By-elections (March 2022), Susan Matsunga of CCC won 4039 votes to win the Mufakose parliament seat. [4]

In the 2022 By-Elections, (see Zimbabwe By-elections (March_2022)) Mufakose returned to Parliament:


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 BRENNA MATENDERE, I am made of thick skin: Matsunga, NewsDay, Published: July 15, 2019, Retrieved: May 7, 2021
  2. Using Her Voice_ The story of “Honourable” Susan Matsunga, Women Empowered for Leadership, Published: August 6, 2019, Retrieved: May 7, 2021
  3. Zvamaida Murwira, JUST IN: 10 MDC-T MPs expelled, The Herald, Published: October 1, 2020, Retrieved: May 7, 2021
  4. National assembly & Council By-election results, ZBC News, Published: March 2022, Retrieved: March 2022

Buy Phones on Credit.

More Deals